Weekly Meal Plan – Week of March 4

I have three words for you! “Cauliflower Crust Pizza”! You must give it a try! That and some butternut squash brownies! I’m not just jotting some words together but I have attempted both dishes last week and they were a success. For the brownies, I used several recipes as a base and went with what I had on hand, changing ingredients here and there. I have some more tweaking to do and a few trials to make sure the recipe is really working before posting but I promise you it will be delicious!

Cauliflower crust pizza with tomato sauce, mushrooms, artichoke hearts, kalamata olives and mozzarella

Cauliflower crust pizza with tomato sauce, mushrooms, artichoke hearts, kalamata olives and mozzarella

This week’s menu plan will be all vegetarian as we had more meat skewers and kabobs at the barbecue lunch on Friday than I care to admit. So on to a purely Mediterranean inspired menu this week:

Monday: Loubyeh bi Zeit ( literally green beans in oil). The word “bi zeit” (in oil) in Lebanese cooking signifies a vegetarian dish as opposed to “bi lahmeh” (with meat). This dish is just onions, lots of garlic, green beans and tomatoes. Serve it on the side with raw onions (soaked in ice water to take off the bite) and whole-wheat pita bread.

Tuesday: Baked Penne with Roasted Vegetables served with simple arugula (rocca) salad and balsamic dressing.

Wednesday: Pomegranate-glazed Freekeh “Kofte” . This will be the first time I try this recipe. It looks quite appetizing with a salad on the side or some spiced yogurt. Freekeh is made from green wheat and is typically cooked with chicken, truffles or lamb with nuts and spices. Shaping the freekeh with eggplants into “meatballs” or “kofte” is a unique twist.

Thursday and Friday: We’ll be out of the city so I’m taking the days off from cooking!

Saturday: Zucchini Frittata with purslane salad (farfahine in Arabic)

Sunday: Lentil and sweet potato shepherd’s pie

Dinner Salad Ideas:

White bean and tuna salad with avocado parsley vinaigrette

Couscous and avocado salad

Lettuce leaves, cucumbers and tomatoes with lemon oil dressing/Herbes de Provence and grilled halloumi slices

Valencian salad

I am linking to Menu Plan Monday on I’m Organizing Junkie so you can also go  check what other bloggers are cooking this week.

P.S. Don’t forget to follow my Pinterest board for quick links and pictures to all the recipes.

Have a great week!

One thought on “Weekly Meal Plan – Week of March 4

  1. Pingback: Weekly Meal Plan – Week of March 11 | Health 'n' Horizons

Leave a comment