Breakfast Egg Muffins

I ran out of oats this weekend. It is news because I rarely, I mean rarely, run of oats. I mean, name a recipe and I can tell you how you can add a handful of oats and make it better for you. But, I’m not posting to tell you about how I ran out of oats. That wouldn’t be fun nor interesting.

What is interesting to me, however, is how I come up with my favorite recipes when I’m lacking an ingredient or when I need to go grocery shopping and only have a few fresh items on hand.

Today’s recipe is no exception. While doing the usual food prep on Sunday, I wanted an easy quick breakfast idea and these egg breakfast muffins/ mini frittatas came to be.

20140603-090729-32849522.jpg

They are great straight out of the oven of course, but they are also perfect reheated out of the fridge or the freezer.

You can double the recipe to make more as they freeze well.

20140603-084536-31536012.jpg

Breakfast egg muffins/ frittatas

Ingredients ( 8- 9 egg muffins )

– 6 eggs
– 1/4 cup milk
– handful parsley, chopped
– 5 or 6 basil leaves, chopped
– 1/4 – 1/3 cup grated gruyere cheese
– 2 slices cooked ham or turkey (optional), chopped
– 5 asparagus spears, chopped (I had white asparagus at the time, green is even better)
– 1 1/2 tablespoon whole wheat flour
– salt and black pepper to taste

Preheat your oven to 180C/ 350F

Whisk the eggs in a bowl, add the milk and the rest of the ingredients. Ladle the mixture in your muffin tin ( if it’s not silicon, you might wanna consider greasing it first).

Put it in your oven and bake for 25-30 minutes. I would start checking for doneness at 20 minutes as each oven is different. They will rise at first but a minute out of the oven they will fall again. I’m warning you so you won’t be disappointed like me!

Change this recipe the way you want with the ingredients you have available. The base includes the eggs, milk, flour, salt and pepper and a melting cheese ( gruyere, mozzarella..)

The optional flavors you can add to change things up
– sautéed leeks, thyme, goat cheese
– broccoli, mushroom, onions
– sun-dried tomatoes, basil, goat cheese
– chopped deseeded tomatoes, basil, mint, feta cheese

20140603-084837-31717379.jpg

Once cooled, wrap them in cling film and place them in a ziploc bag in the freezer. ( if you’re having them the next day, you can keep them in the fridge in an airtight container, and reheat them for a shorter amount of time).

For breakfast, grab two and pop them in the microwave for a minute or in a preheated oven for five. Have a fruit with them and you’re good to go.

Bon appetit :)

2 thoughts on “Breakfast Egg Muffins

Leave a Reply

