Almond butter “ice cream” over apple slices

I haven’t tasted almond butter before a few weeks ago. It was all peanut butter for me as that is what I could get my hands on.
I always wanted to be able to do my own nut butters, but several failed attempts in my mini handheld food processor were enough to convince me that this is something I will have to buy. However, I make sure I get a one-ingredient product. No sugar, no oil, and no preservatives added. Don’t be fooled because even in organic health food stores, you will find nut butters with sugar and palm oil added and we don’t want that. They’re perfect enough as they are, why do we have to ruin them will all these additions?

20140422-183955.jpg

The idea of this dessert came on a whim. I was waking up my girl* from her nap and wanted a quick snack we can eat before heading out to the park. I was out of kiwis and had apples and bananas on hand. The warm weather begged for some ice cream and there it was. I chopped the banana and threw it in the freezer.

By the time I brought down my food processor and cleaned up a bit after lunch, the bananas were frozen and ready. Of course, having them prepared before is even faster. On summery days, I almost always have frozen banana coins. Even if I’m not making ice cream, a couple of these babies will sometimes satisfy a cold craving.

I made these three times during the past week for relatives and friends who were visiting during the Easter vacation and they fell in love. Here’s the incredibly easy recipe.

Ingredients (serves 2)
1 large banana** chopped into coins, you need 1 cup once chopped
2 tablespoons natural almond butter ( if you make your own, all the better)
1 large apple (or two small) cut into 4 slices
2-3 chocolate squares, melted
10-12 almonds, toasted (optional) and chopped

20140422-183459.jpg

Chop your banana (or two) and put in the freezer. Depending on your freezer, it may take around 30 to 40 minutes for the bananas to be ready. This step can be done well ahead of time, the day before even.

Add the frozen bananas to your food processor, and pulse for a few seconds until they become soft and creamy.

Add the almond*** butter, and pulse for another couple of seconds. Taste. If you prefer a more almondy taste, add some more almond butter and pulse again.

Place the “ice-cream” back in the freezer until you get all the other ingredients ready.

In a dry skillet, add the almonds and toast for a few minutes. Toasted nuts are tastier but you can definitely skip this step if you want to avoid washing an extra pan;). Chop them roughly.

Slice the apple, place in your plate and remove the seeds.

Put the chocolate squares in a small glass bowl and microwave for 20 to 30 seconds. Don’t put it more even if it doesn’t look like it has melted. Stir it, it will be perfect.

Now it’s assembly time.
Scoop the banana ice cream and place one scoop over each apple slice. Drizzle some chocolate and top with the chopped almonds.

Bon appetit :)

* my girl didn’t like it the first time. I guess she was still not used to the cold sensation. Today, she saw me having the ice cream alone, and she asked for “aksin” and actually finished up a scoop and enjoyed it :)

**if the bananas are on the smaller size, use two. This recipe is highly customizable. You can use as much bananas as you want and adjust the add-ins and their quantities ( almond butter, cashew butter, cocoa powder, vanilla..) and leave in the freezer for your daily pleasure.

**you can use peanut butter if you prefer, or you can skip this step and stay with the pure banana flavor if you’re keen on that.

3 thoughts on “Almond butter “ice cream” over apple slices

    • Thank you Tala! I’ve been doing it since last summer with cocoa and peanut butter. I have to say, I like almond butter best so far. I have some frozen raspberries which I’m trying next :)

  1. Pingback: Good-for-you Homemade Clean “Nutella” | Health and Horizons

Leave a Reply

