Beetroot Smoothie

The best part of public challenges? They hold you accountable and they motivate you. As part of the #healthiermechallenge and in an attempt to enjoy vegetables in an unfamiliar way, I gave beetroots a try in a smoothie.

I love roasted or boiled beetroots in salads dressed with a bit of vinegar or lemon juice and olive oil. However, I have never tried them in a smoothie before.

On the same day I bought some organic beetroots, I came across A New Earth’s Instagram account where they had posted a picture of a beetroot smoothie with kefir. This can’t be an accident, right? So, I was inspired to try out my beetroot smoothie and it came out perfect from the first attempt. This smoothie has the right balance of sweetness from the apple with a welcome spicy kick from the ginger.  Not to mention the powerhouse of nutrition it packs. Beets are a good source of vitamin C, iron and magnesium and a very good source of fiber, folate, and potassium, whereas, we all know, carrots are loaded with beta-carotenes.

beetroot smoothie

Ingredients (for 1 smoothie)

  • 1/2 medium beetroot
  • 1/2 medium apple
  • 1 medium carrot
  • 1 teaspoon ground flaxseed
  • 4 walnut halves
  • 1 coin-sized piece of fresh ginger
  • 125 grams (1/2 cup) Greek yogurt (or milk of choice)
  • 3 ice cubes

Bring all ingredients together in a powerful blender and blitz.

beetroot smoothie ingredients

The second time I tried it, I used a quarter apple (pictured above) which was perfect. However, my mum preferred the sweeter taste from using half an apple. So, it’s up to you.

As always, smoothies are versatile, you can use chia seeds instead of flaxseed, and almonds instead of walnuts. But honestly, this exact combo was perfect.  Just ask my girl!

November 2013 067

Bon appetit!

Note: My blender is not that powerful, so I found that adding the cut –up beets into already boiling water and cooking them for two minutes softens them up and makes them easier on my blender to process. If your blender can handle it, keep them raw!

*A New Earth Store is a leading organic store in Lebanon and they always share healthy vegetarian and vegan recipe ideas. You can follow them on Facebook and Instagram for some delicious inspiration.

Leave a Reply

