{Sugar-Free} Kid-Friendly Cake

I came across these baby-friendly muffins when I was searching for a handy recipe suitable for traveling. I wanted something that is without added sugar and easy enough for my girl to eat. This recipe delivered.

I didn’t vary it much as I had most ingredients on hand and it was pretty healthy as it is. However, I couldn’t find the muffin tins at my parents’ house (I was still on vacation in Lebanon), so I used a cake pan.

It was so easy to make as you don’t need mixers and high-tech equipment. Plus, it was moist and delicious. My girl and everyone else loved it.

baby-friendly cake

Before our trip, I packed a few pieces in a Ziploc bag for us to munch on in the plane or airport. Oh boy, was it a mistake. The cake pieces got all mushy. I should have known better and use a container. Lesson learned.

baby friendly cake with fruits

However, once out of the oven (and cooled), baby girl couldn’t resist getting her hand on it.

baby friendly cake with bananas, apple and orange juice

And so her little munchkin hands photobombed my cake!!

baby-friendly cake with fruits and no added sugar

Ingredients (slightly adapted from BlueBird Kisses blog)

  • 2 bananas, mashed
  • 1 apple, grated, makes about 1 cup
  • 1/4 cup fresh orange juice, from 1 orange
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup melted coconut oil ( you can use any other vegetable oil)
  • 1 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1 cup self-rising flour
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 cup raisins (optional)

Preheat oven at 190C.

In a bowl, mash the bananas, grate the apple, and add the orange juice, the egg and the oil. Whisk.

In a separate bowl, add the flour, cinnamon, baking powder and baking soda.

Add the flour mixture to the wet ingredients and fold together.

Mix in the raisins if you are using them.

Grease a 25-cm cake pan or 12 muffin tins. Add the batter and bake from 25 to 30 minutes.

Give this cake a try. I’m sure your adult taste buds will love it too!

Bon appetit!

P.S:  I froze the remaining pieces for us to reheat and eat as needed throughout the vacation. It all went to waste as its taste and texture changed. So even though, on the original blog, freezing was suggested, it didn’t work for me. I will have to try it again another time where I immediately thaw and eat.

9 thoughts on “{Sugar-Free} Kid-Friendly Cake

Leave a Reply

