Munchkin Meals–14 months

If you follow me on Instagram, you know I mostly share pictures of my daughter and her toddler meals. And since I always get asked about what I’m feeding her and how I go on preparing some of the dishes, and since we could all use some inspiration to make our kids’ mealtime more pleasing, I decided to start linking up to Munchkin meals over at A Healthy Slice of Life. This way you can check what other  moms are feeding their toddlers of different ages and follow on with my little munchkin and her progress.

So far, she’s a very good eater. She loves her veggies, fruits, meat and fish. She loves Lebanese dishes including stuffed courgettes (koussa mehshi), mujaddara and meat pie (kibbeh bl sayniyyeh) to name a few. However, she rarely ever eats any leftovers. I need to re-purpose them in order for her to eat them with appetite.

Nearing her 14 month anniversary, she started insisting on using the fork to pick up the bites, refusing my help. So, you can imagine the mess getting bigger but it’s just a pleasure watching her try relentlessly.

In the hot summer weather, she’s having yogurt with cereal flakes and fruit for breakfast. For variety, she sometimes has a halloumi sandwich (in pita bread) with cucumbers or tomatoes, or a scrambled or boiled organic egg with a dollop of labneh and tomatoes.

Yogurt with five cereal organic flakes (wheat, barley, rye, oat, rice) and the last of the season’s figs.

And that’s her “I’ve got yogurt” face!

The same, yogurt and cereal flakes but with organic peaches.

september 2013 005

Getting a taste even before she goes on her high chair.

Lunch is usually whatever we are having. But sometimes I have to amend a recipe to omit the extra spices or to make it into something easier for her to eat.

Baked marinated salmon (lemon, olive oil, rosemary) with soba noodles and steamed broccoli ( I cut them into bite size pieces afterwards), but yes, she ate it all! She had a big appetite that day.

I was experimenting with quinoa adzuki bean burgers and she loved her version. The patty had in addition to quinoa and beans, shredded sauteed broccoli stalks and zucchini, onions, garlic, parsley, cheddar and a sprinkling of dried oregano and coriander. She had it with an avocado slice, organic cherry tomatoes and a boiled potato (she finished as well two more wedges not pictured)

Mastering those fork skills!

september 2013 172

Re-purposing leftover quinoa and soba noodles by adding them to sauteed chopped eggplant, zucchini, carrots, and broccoli with onions and garlic, fresh tomato, parsley and dried oregano and rosemary. She loved this dish!

Practicing some more….

That girl loves her broccoli… she always eats it first

That’s quick polenta with nutmeg and  Parmesan served alongside organic chicken with zucchini, carrots, some onions and herbes de Provence.

She had high fever for a couple of days where she lost her appetite and barely had milk. One of the meals she had when the fever subsided was a peach and a watermelon slice with white cheese.

The next day she had pieces of grilled meat, boiled potato and steamed zucchini with some herbs, a spritz of lemon juice and a drizzle of olive oil.

Her afternoon snack usually consists of fresh seasonal fruit, banana-oat cookie, homemade oat cracker or a small cheese or labneh sandwich with veggies depending on her appetite and where we are. Sometimes, it’s a combination!

Trying mangoes for the third time. She takes after her dad by not liking this fruit. But I thought I’ll offer it again since she’s enjoying using her fork. She did play with it and mommy got to take a little break but she never swallowed. She just took bites and tasted. Never swallowed though… And yes that’s a necklace… always in style!

I feel lucky now that she’s still not picky and would eat almost anything that I cook up for her. I don’t know for how long though so I’ll enjoy it while it lasts!

8 thoughts on “Munchkin Meals–14 months

  1. Wow, those are great meals for your 14 moth-old! I don’t think I’ve ever made polenta, so I’m going to pick some up when I’m at the store the next time. I love Munchkin Meals, there’s always new inspiration! Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks Susan, we’re lucky she’s such a good eater :) and you are right, munchkin meals offers plenty of inspiration that’s why i started linking up! And Polenta is great for those ”
      I’m hungry now” kind of moments ;)

  2. I love that she uses a fork. Is she good with it? When did you introduce it? I’m asking only because we haven’t introduced it with my son yet and I’m wondering how much adapting he’s going to need to do, to go from eating with his fingers to using a fork.

    Also, she’s so darn cute!!

    • Thank you Jillian:) Actually, since we started solids she would sometimes take a spoon and try to use it. She wasn’t successful in picking food up; but if I put food in it she would take it and put it in her mouth. At 13 and a half months, she started grabbing the fork and wouldn’t eat a bite without it. She would try many many times before actually picking a bite but she didn’t like it very much when I offered to help. So meal times got longer and messier. But she’s getting there… and btw she still uses her fingers when things get too challenging;)

Leave a Reply

