Swiss Chard and Oat Smoothie

While I was browsing the Food Revolution Day website, I came across a frozen fruit smoothie recipe by Jamie Oliver that had oats in it. I never thought of adding oats to a smoothie. Not that I’m a smoothie addict, but nonetheless, it never occurred to me. So I thought for FRD, I’d give it a try.

This is one filling smoothie. You can have it for breakfast and be satisfied. You don’t want to have a calorific drink just to be hungry a minute later.

swiss chard and oat smoothie

Ingredients (1 smoothie)

  • 1 cup Swiss chard, packed (around 4 leaves)
  • 3/4 cup almond milk (any other milk will do)
  • 1/2 a pear, peeled and chopped (an apple will work as well)
  • 1/2 medium banana, chopped (if frozen all the better)
  • 2 tablespoons uncooked oats (quick-cooking or old-fashioned)
  • 6 almonds
  • 1/2 tablespoon chia seeds (can use flaxseeds)

Put the fruits, Swiss chard, and milk in a blender and work it up. Add the almonds and the chia seeds and continue blending. You can also add a few ice cubes.

I used a food processor; that’s why you will see specks of green and white and a thinner consistency. Using a blender is best for the known smooth, rich and homogenous consistency.

The banana and the pear gave this smoothie the right amount of sweetness. However, my aunt, who was visiting while we were taking the pictures said it needed an extra touch of sweetness. She, like most people on my father’s side of the family have a very sweet tooth. Just let me demonstrate how sweet in case you need a reference! When my father was younger, his friends dared him to drink up a jug of simple syrup (equal amounts of sugar and water; qater in Arabic) in one sitting. Surely enough, he won! I wouldn’t be telling  this story if he didn’t! So, of course he’s not my go-to dessert test taster because no matter what I do, he won’t find it sweet enough. But that’s okay. At least, he’s giving them a try and maybe his palate will get used to less sweetness with time.

So friends, in case you need to sweeten it up, you can always drizzle a little honey!

Enjoy it fresh!

Leave a Reply

