Food Revolution “Week” 2013 and a recipe for healthy baby cookies

May 17th is Food Revolution Day. Food Revolution Day is an initiative by world-renowned chef Jamie Oliver aimed at increasing awareness about the importance of real food and basic cooking skills.

“It’s a global day of action for people to make a stand for good food and essential cooking skills. It’s a chance for people to come together within their homes, schools, workplaces and communities to cook and share their kitchen skills, food knowledge and resources. Food Revolution Day aims to raise awareness about the importance of good food and better food education for everyone by focusing on three simple actions – cook it, share it, live it.” Food Revolution Day (FRD) website

And if you know me at all, you know I’m all about cooking from scratch. If it can be cooked at home with real ingredients, I’m most likely giving it a try.

Fair Trade Beirut Expo

I started my Food Revolution Week, if I may say, on Sunday May 12th with the Fair Trade brunch and expo that took place in Beirut Souks to showcase local fair trade produce. I was happily surprised with the activities and all the people participating in the brunch. There were many products available: argan and olive oil , tea infusions, toasted wheat, zaatar mixes, jams, hummus, baba ghannouj, red wine, honey, a multitude of spices and herbs, and 961 beer. There were also sandwiches, a sajj manakish station, and Juice for Charity whose sales of fresh orange juice went to raise funds for FoodBlessed.

I loved everything about it and I got culinary argan oil, toasted unsalted wheat (similar to toasted soybeans but I found they tasted better), almond cookies, and red wine. Let me tell you, the wheat and the almond cookies were quite addictive. Just feeling the cookies melt in your mouth you know they contain quite a hefty amount of butter but I indulged anyway! Now I’ll have to find a use for the argan oil. If you’ve got any recipes, please do share Smile.

The fair and the brunch were a success and I met amazing people  and volunteers who were behind the event. However,  I just wished there were more produce available. So hoping that next year there will be more producers who are getting the certification and more consumers who are supporting ethical trade.

fair trade products

cooked

Just in time! My copy of Michael Pollan’s newest book

The second was the actual Food Revolution Day which in Beirut was quite an event. It was a collective effort brought together by FRD ambassador in Lebanon Caline Chaaya Chaoul. Many restaurants were participating and Paty, Nour and I got together for a tasty brunch. My baby girl also shared this experience with us. With every feverish discussion on Monsanto, organic food, or the latest nutrition study, there was a quick pose to cuddle her, kiss her or just make some funny faces to get her smiling. Baby girl had her banana oatmeal cookies and a few apple slices sprinkled with cinnamon.

brunch Food Revolution Day

Besides the great company and the tasty restaurant food, I could not let Food Revolution Day pass without cooking and sharing my meals at home. First up were the banana oatmeal cookies!

I shared the “recipe”  previously on my Facebook page and I’ve been doing it since. These cookies are so quick to come together, have only two-ingredients, have no added sugar or salt, and are perfectly portable for those mall, park or other short trips with the baby.

Recipe from Homemade Baby Food Recipes

All you need:

A handful of quick-cooking oats

1 medium ripe banana

This quantity makes around 3 or 4 oval-shaped long cookies. I always double or triple the recipe and sometimes I find like I need to add more oats.

Preheat oven to 350F (180C)

If you’re using rolled oats, blitz them in the blender first.  You want the “paste” to hold together. Brush a cookie sheet with oil or line it with parchment paper. Scoop a tablespoon and form into oval or rectangular shape. You want the baby to be able to hold it in his hand.

Bake for about 12-15 minutes. They were ready in 12 in my parents’ oven whereas in mine they took the whole 15.

When I was searching again for the recipe to reference it in this post, I stumbled upon variations for adult versions as well. Just add to the mix any kind of nuts and spice; walnuts or cinnamon would be great. I like them as they are and my baby girl is super satisfied.

On Food Revolution Day, I also prepared chocolate and peanut butter frozen banana bites, Swiss chard wraps for dinner and a green smoothie! So I can honestly say: I cooked it, shared it, and lived it! I’ll be posting all three recipes next week!

And may every day be Food Revolution Day!!

Did you celebrate Food Revolution Day?  What activities were you part of?

P.S. You can check out pictures of the Fair Trade Lebanon and Food Revolution Day Beirut successful events on their respective Facebook pages.

7 thoughts on “Food Revolution “Week” 2013 and a recipe for healthy baby cookies

  1. I am really satisfied to see your useful publish because its gives me a better information about Recipe for Healthy Baby Cookies guidelines which I looking for. Thanks for your information.

  2. Pingback: Quinoa Adzuki Bean Salad | Health 'n' Horizons

  3. Pingback: Oat Crackers | Health 'n' Horizons

Leave a Reply

