Weekly Meal Plan – Week of March 18

Last week’s menu was just a plan that never got executed in my kitchen! I just made the Lebanese stuffed zucchini and the chicken stuffed with feta and sun-dried tomatoes (what’s with me and stuffed food, right?). For the rest, I used the same ingredients on hand, but came up with different dishes. That’s the beauty of cooking. Nothing is engraved in stone. You can go with whatever you fancy at the moment; but coming up with a different dish on a whim takes time and practice (unless you’re a born chef which I most definitely am not). In fact, not so long ago, you would see me flipping back and forth through a recipe making sure I have all the ingredients ready and measured to a T. And then imagine the pile of measuring cups and tasting spoons! Every cook’s nightmare, I’m sure!

Anyway, back to last week’s menu where I had planned fasolya bi zeit, orange-ginger salmon and pasta bolognese. But here’s what I did instead. I had the beans already in the freezer so in a couple of minutes I had fasolya moutabbaleh. Moutabbal in Arabic means seasoned and when we say moutabbal we usually mean seasoned with garlic, lemon juice and olive oil. We ate it with fattoush and sweet potato oven fries. Instead of the orange ginger salmon, my husband insisted we have the usual, yes, you guessed it , Ina’s Asian salmon ( I promise this is the last time I bring this recipe up, I fear you’ll mistake me for a total pushover later) And in lieu of spaghetti bolognese, we had lemon spaghetti (lemon juice, lemon zest, parsley, olive oil, parmesan) with Giada’s shrimp fra diavolo which we also had the week before. Some dishes you just can’t get enough of!

This week I’m only cooking from my pantry and fridge (just bought some extra salad vegetables and greens). So this menu will be full of healthy cheap eats.

Monday: Rice and lentil pilaf (Mujaddara) served tomato and mint salad (apple cider vinegar and olive oil dressing)

Tuesday: Mung beans and potato salad (my first time preparing mung beans, and until I read Joumana’s post in Taste of Beirut I had no idea we prepared them in Lebanon).

Wednesday: Pasta bolognese (carried from last week)

Thursday: It’s Mother’s day around here and it’s my first year celebrating as a new mum! I’m guessing my husband has something prepared. If not, I think he will after he reads this post. I’m not the world’s most subtle person, am I?

Friday: lunch out

Saturday: Lima beans stew served with meat and rice (in Arabic fasolya bayda areeda w rizz)

Sunday: It’s Palm Sunday and we are having lunch with neighbors and friends. We still haven’t decided on the menu yet, but each family will have one dish to prepare.

Dinner salad ideas:

This week it’ll also be fattoush, Mediterranean couscous (eggplant, sun-dried tomatoes and balsamic dressing), Arugula salad with Parmesan and Arabic salad with halloumi cheese.

Simple menu this week just to clean up my pantry and freezer. Hoping to get more creative the week after!

I’m linking as usual to Menu Plan Monday at I’m an Organizing Junkie.

What are you all cooking this week?

Leave a Reply

