Weekly Meal Plan – Week of Feb11/Feb17

Lunch at our house is the most important meal. Not in a sense that beats the importance of breakfast and getting a good start to your day but more like “my husband comes home for lunch every day” and we need to have something wholesome and nourishing to eat. The meal  is usually Lebanese or Mediterranean but many Asian and American recipes make it to the table. Dinner, however, is usually synonymous with a big green salad and a protein whether it is canned tuna, eggs, halloumi, feta or labneh (strained Greek yogurt). Sometimes things get a little bit boring so I experiment with new combinations by adding fruits, nuts, seeds, grains and beans… So with the daily lunches I will be including a few salad ideas for dinner as well.

The recipes that I link to may have more oil, salt or sugar … than I typically use. I always adjust the quantities to meet my nutritional requirements without compromising taste. Unlike baking, it is easier to do that with cooking.

Here’s my lunch plan for this week:

Monday: Tabbouleh with roasted cauliflower, chickpeas and tahini sauce and steamed green beans.

Tuesday: Kibbeh bl saniyyeh – Oven baked beef kibbeh pie. The link is a recipe from Joumana Accad’s blog, Taste of Beirut.  I did a double batch three weeks ago. So it will be super easy as I’ll take it from the freezer and pop it in the oven. I’ll serve it with yogurt and cucumbers (simply laban w khyar in Arabic) or tzatziki or raita depending on where you’re from. The Lebanese version is minced garlic with low-fat yogurt, sliced cucumbers salt and dried mint.

Wednesday: Roasted vegetables with couscous; light lunch since we’re having a rather indulgent Valentine’s dinner.

Thursday: Leftover kibbeh with a side salad

Friday: Adzuki bean chili with roasted tofu. This recipe is new from the Pescatarian Journal blog. I bought adzuki beans a while ago but haven’t had the chance to try them yet.

Saturday: Fish en papillote in parchment with whole wheat pasta 

Sunday:  Shish barak or meat dumplings in yogurt sauce. This is a favorite dish of mine. This recipe is also from Joumana’s blog.  I do it the same except that sometimes I use dried mint and not cilantro and I like my dumplings to have a little crunch so I just drop them in the yogurt sauce just before eating.

For dinner, you will see a certain trend as I have cooked some beets over the weekend.

Dinner salads:

Beet-Orange and Arugula salad

Arugula and Pomegranate Salad

Strawberry Avocado Salad

Beet and Feta Salad with spinach

Spinach, pears, walnuts, blanched green beans, parmesan and balsamic vinaigrette.

I will be linking up my weekly meal plans to Menu Plan Monday at I’m an organizing Junkie. Plus, I have created a Pinterest board that will include all the lunch meals and the salads so you can easily follow it.

What are you cooking this week? I would love to hear from you!

One thought on “Weekly Meal Plan – Week of Feb11/Feb17

  1. Pingback: Weekly Meal Plan – Week of Feb 25 | Health 'n' Horizons

Leave a Reply

