A Happy Mother’s Day with Lemon Cupcakes

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers who are celebrating today especially to my mom! Please allow me to say a few words on this day to the woman who made me who I am today before sharing the recipe.

I just want to thank you mom for always being there for me, for teaching me how to read and enjoy a good book. Thank you for teaching me to enjoy life and not to sweat the small stuff, for showing me how to stand back up when things don’t go as planned. Thank you for instilling in me the appetite for food, adventure and life. Thank you for teaching me how to cherish my health and love and accept myself for who I am. For all those things and much more; for all the times you kissed away my tears and the times you laughed at my silly jokes, thank you Mom. I love you.

My mom loves anything lemony or with a remotely lemon flavor in it, so for Mother’s day, even though we are miles away, I baked her these cupcakes. ( I promise I’ll make them again when I go back home :)). The recipe is adapted from James Martin for BBC Food.

Ingredients ( 11 cupcakes)

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 cup low-fat milk
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 4 lemons, zest only

For the drizzle

  • 1/3 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice

Preheat oven to 200 degrees Celsius.

In a bowl, combine eggs, milk, oil, and lemon zest. In a separate bowl, sieve the flours, baking powder and salt. Add the dry ingredients to the wet and stir lightly. Do not overmix.

Lightly grease your muffin tins or line with baking cups. Add your batter and bake for 15-18 minutes.

Meanwhile, prepare your drizzle if you want by mixing the sugar and the lemon juice.

Once the muffins are done, leave them to cool slightly before adding the drizzle on top.

Nothing better than the smell of lemons to greet Spring and to wish mummies everywhere the best day ever!

Bon appetit :)!

12 thoughts on “A Happy Mother’s Day with Lemon Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

