Baked Eggs with Tomato Sauce

Just a quick note about the technology detox this weekend before sharing my recipe. In a nutshell, it wasn’t as easy as I had anticipated. I didn’t break down the first day and I was pretty excited to catch up on my reading. Books not blogs! I also had a research request pending for a while so I did some reading on that too. As for the yoga, I haven’t done a music-free session in a while now, so the change was welcome on both days. However, I missed my afternoon walk on Saturday because I couldn’t envision myself walking without my iPod. So, on Sunday I plugged in my playlist and went for my walk. I also took a quick peek at my e-mail. :( Yep, guilty! But that was it. I’m guessing it wasn’t as detoxifying as I hoped it would be because I was in the same setting doing the same things while my iFriends eyed me with discontent, luring me into temptation. Next time I am unplugging, I am definitely changing scenery!

Anyway, back to the recipe. This is a great idea for a breakfast lunch or dinner. It is ideal for treating your mom to a breakfast-in-bed this Mother’s Day with a light green salad on the side and a fruit crumble for dessert. Five minutes on the stove and twenty minutes in the oven and you’re done.

Eggs are a great source of protein and contain only 75 calories each. Healthy people can enjoy up to three eggs per week without fearing the cholesterol in the yolks. Tomatoes are good for you and when they are cooked they are an even better source of lycopene, their cancer-fighting component. For extra protein, I added a tablespoon of quinoa flakes that I am currently having with my overnight oats in the morning. Quinoa flakes are steamed and rolled so they are very quick to cook, can be added to soups and stews, and can be used pretty much like quick-cooking oats. So, however you look at it, this recipe is good and good for you.

Ingredients (2 servings)

Adapted from Martha Stewart’s Whole Living

  • 1/2 teaspoon canola oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped or minced
  • 1/8 tsp red pepper flakes (a pinch)
  • 1/8 teaspoon dried rosemary
  • 1/8 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1/8 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/8 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 can peeled tomatoes with their juice, chopped or get them pre-diced
  • 1 tablespoon quinoa flakes (optional)
  • 2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese, or any other hard cheese
  • 4 eggs
  • salt and black pepper, to taste

Heat oven to 175 degrees Celsius.

In a non-stick skillet, heat the oil with the garlic and the herbs until fragrant. I used a mixture of herbs; alternatively, you can use half a teaspoon of herbes de Provence or half a teaspoon of one of the herbs instead of the rest.  Add the tomatoes and their juices and leave to simmer for a few minutes. Add the quinoa flakes if using and season with salt and pepper.

In oven-proof ramekins, place tomato sauce and crack over it the eggs ( My ramekins are small so I had only one egg in each). Season with salt and black pepper. Spoon over the whites a bit more tomato sauce and sprinkle with the cheese.

Put your ramekins on a baking tray as it would be easier to get them out of the oven while hot and bake for 18-25 minutes. Mine took 18 minutes as there was only one egg per ramekin and they were rather on the set side. If you like your yolks more runny, bake them for less. Serve with a piece of whole-grain baguette or crusty bread.

Bon appetit!

7 thoughts on “Baked Eggs with Tomato Sauce

    • Thank u! actually this was my first try at it, so it’s gotta be pretty easy :) didn’t think I’d post it but both, my husband and I, really liked it. Next time, i’d divide the tomato sauce b/w top and bottom more evenly, just for aesthetics:)

  1. I love baked eggs! Sometimes I’ve had them Spanish style with chorizo, green beans and chillies too (including the eggs and tomatoes) Thanks for reminding me on how much I love baked eggs!!!

  2. Pingback: Follow the Mediterranean diet? Yes, please! | Health 'n' Horizons

Leave a Reply

